Spring is in the air

DSC_0382.JPG

It’s a glorious day again to day, we seem to be having a few just recently which are very welcome, although I need to remember to drink more water! This is my view while sitting at my desk and I can hear birds tweeting and it’s so lovely.

20170309_103555

Had a glorious day the other day as well and the sunshine was pouring through the kitchen window and my beautiful jug of tulips were opening and it was such a lovely sight I had to take a photo of them to share.

IMG-20170303-WA0003

I’ve had a kitchen chair for a while that’s been waiting to be painted. Well the other week I decided it was the time, so I went and purchased some Annie Sloan chalk paint, Provence…

20170303_125014

and set about painting the scruffy chair to transform it into….

DSC_0367

I’ve probably said many times before, when I take wider shot photos in our house. We are slowly renovating our cottage and the kitchen was the first room we did, but we got it to the stage where we could use it and everything is fitted etc but we haven’t done finishing touches and general decorating yet. Mainly because the en suite, which is what we are doing currently, is above the kitchen and there are some things that need doing to the floor which will affect the kitchen ceiling, so when we’ve finished the en suite, we’ll come back and do all the finishing touches and paint etc the kitchen and the rest of the downstairs. Can not wait until it’s all finished.

I also made a new seat cushion and found this lovely orange and white spot oilcloth fabric in Dunelm, which I think goes really well with the gorgeous Provence coloured paint.

DSC_0369

20170307_141620

Please excuse the detritus that you can see in the photo above. Our garden is in desperate need of a jolly good tidy up, plus coming out of winter is never the best time to show off a garden, well ours anyway. I found this hellebore which has grown where there used to be two big hazel trees, I’m not sure if it’s been there all the time but never been able to grown much because of the trees or whether it was dumped there when we were clearing the area and cutting some trees down. Either way I love it and it’s so pretty, I’m very tempted to cut some and bring them inside, but I know they won’t last long cause it’s quite warm now with the Rayburn still on and the weather getting a bit milder.

20170308_143336

I’m not sure if I’ve posted any photos of my bunnies before. This is Wilson my French Lop, tucking into his tea.

20170309_102207

Wilson lives with Daisy, who we adopted from Pets at Home, I think they work with a couple of charities and have some animals in the store that are up for adoption. I went in for some bits and bobs one day and came out with Daisy. I was intending on getting Wilson a friend, I didn’t want to get a baby and liked that I could give her a home. She’s a dwarf lop, so a little smaller than Wilson.

20170309_102210

Wilson.

20170309_101855

This is my third rabbit, Melli. I will explain her name as it’s a bit unusual but there is some logic to it! Her colour in the rabbit world is ‘yellow’, we’ve had a lot of rabbits in the past and they all had music related names, for example we had a boy called Lemmy, a black bunny called Sabbath, a girl called Jessie and Angie. So when I got Melli I wanted to carry on that way (Daisy came with her name and I thought Wilson suited him, although there is a music connection anyway). Because she’s yellow, I thought of the song Mellow Yellow by Donovan, it’s a bit old school, you can find it on YouTube if you feel intrigued, but that is how she got her name. Melli is a Giant Continental and she’s got HUGE ears and she is quite a big girl. I do love the big rabbits, I find they are so laid back and not as skittish as we’ve found the smaller rabbits to be.

I will have to get some more photos of the rabbits over the summer. All photos are made better when the sun is shining and they are brightened up.

I will be getting my camera out more over the next week or so and taking more snaps, I’ve got really lazy over the last few months and I need to change that.

Right I’m off and I’ll see you again very soon, with some more photos and more goings on from Well Lane Cottage, I hope you can join me. E x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

